Orange Sky

 

It sucks being a writer sometimes. You could think of a hundred different plots and not be satisfied with any of them. The hardest thing about writing a novel is finding something you enjoy writing about, and be willing to further work and elaborate on. Lately I find myself interested in Crime Dramas, because of the raw emotion and realness they portray. I’ve never written anything longer than 10 pages, so I won’t be hypersensitive to any criticism I receive. 

Lately I’ve been brainstorming ideas for plots and characters and I finally devised a quality story line that I can put my heart and mind into, here is a ‘dense sample’ of the opening.

I sensed a turbulent essence the moment I arrived into town, the endemic aura was too strong to neglect. The extreme heat and dense air pounded my face relentlessly. I looked up at the sky and it was coated in orange, layered with undertones of red, and yellow. It was like a mushroom cloud radiating through the sky, disposing of all the blue in its way as it took over. In that moment everything seemed unnatural, like something extraordinarily terrifying was about to take place. For a moment I debated turning back around and getting far away from this place. I convinced myself to disregard that feeling because of how far fetched that idea seemed. Little did I know that disregarding this warning would be the biggest mistake of my life.

Leave a comment